Which Are The Best UNESCO World Heritage Sites in the USA

unesco world heritage sites usa

In the United States, there are 23 UNESCO World Heritage Sites. There are ten cultural sites, one mixed site, and twelve natural sites, most of which are national parks. These locations are significant in America’s rich cultural past and reflect the country’s incredible variety. 

The first two national parks in the United States were Mesa Verde National Park and Yellowstone National Park.

Cahokia Mounds The Best State Historic Site is located in Cahokia, Illinois. 

World Heritage

The Cahokia Mounds were listed as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1982. The pre-Columbian settlement is the largest north of Mexico. Cahokia began as a Mississippian city with a diverse range of residential houses and magnificent public constructions that have preserved their authenticity as the indigenous people’s cultural, economic, and religious center for generations. Labor divisions, agriculture, trade, and settlement patterns can all be found on the site, showing a pre-urban society with an outstanding organization. The site is in southwestern Illinois, near the Mississippi River’s banks and across St. Louis, Missouri.

Chaco Culture National Historical Park

World Heritage

In 1987, UNESCO declared the Chaco Culture National Historical Park in New Mexico as a World Heritage Site. The remnants of the Chacoan complexes, from between 900 and 1150 CE, are preserved at the site. The remains depict a remarkable society that created great architectural designs with limited resources and a harsh Southwest climate.

Everglades National Park

This National Park was listed as a natural World Heritage Site by UNESCO in 1979 because of its extensive subtropical wilderness, which is home to unique and endangered animal species such as the manatee, elusive Florida panther, and American crocodile. It features the largest mangrove habitat in the Western Hemisphere and is an important nesting place for tropical wading birds. Over a million people have seen it.

Yellowstone National Park

In 1978, UNESCO classified Yellowstone as a natural, historical site. Yellowstone National Park is home to about 10,000 geothermal features, over half of the world’s total. The park also has the world’s most powerful geysers, with about 300 in full, including the world-famous Old Faithful Geyser. The Subalpine ecology is the park’s most well-known and plentiful ecosystem. Hundreds of endangered or threatened mammals, birds, reptiles, and fish can be found in Yellowstone. Wolves, grizzly bears, and free-ranging bison and elk herds are among the megafauna found there. The bison herd is the country’s largest and oldest herd. Native Americans have inhabited the park for over 11,000 years.


There are many people all around the world who love the heritage site. Some notable teams and squads especially take care and actions to keep the heritage sites alive. They ensure any case cannot harm the sites. The sites are the best tourist spots around the world. Each heritage site has some specialty, due to which UNESCO has declared them as the top and the best heritage site for the visitors. You must visit them once in your entire life and admire it.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter