Unesco World Heritage Sites in the Bay of Bengal and Sri Lanka

unesco world heritage sites india

Unesco World Heritage Sites in India is one of the most sought-after tourist destinations around the globe. India is home to numerous World Heritage Sites, and Unesco World Heritage Sites in India includes the world’s oldest monuments Taj Mahal in Agra, Fatehpur Sikri in Varanasi, Panch Mahal in Agra, Humayun’s Tomb in Varanasi, Swaraj Palace in New Delhi, and the Koh Samui Island. The Unesco World Heritage Sites in India have been given a certificate by UNESCO as of being of World Heritage in the same category as the Old Seven Wonders of the World. Among the World Heritage Sites in India, Unesco World Heritage Sites in India is the symbol of world heritage because of their outstanding artistic and historical importance.

India has a lot to offer to its visitors. It is a land of rich culture, tradition, and history. There are many attractions that will really enchant you. Unesco has put together, painstakingly, a treasure of civilizations that have earned the right to be called Unesco World Heritage Sites in India. These have been granted with World Heritage Status by UNESCO for their outstanding universal significance. UNESCO has included them in their list of “Ten Best Destinations on a Trip to India”

Unesco World Heritage Sites India

A large stone building

Taj Mahal, built by Shah Jahan in memory of his beloved wife Mumtaz Mahal, is perhaps the most renowned construction in the world. This white mausoleum was built initially as a gift for Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan. It was completed only after 21 long years. Today, it stands amidst the green fields of Agra and is one of the finest examples of masonry construction in the world.

Another World Heritage Site in India that needs no introduction is the Chisti Babu, located in the state of Rajasthan. Established in roughly 400 BC, this was one of the first princely states established by the Rajputs. The fort was collapsed by the army of Alexander the Great, and today the structure is a Unesco World Heritage Site. Dating from between the third and fourth centuries, the fort and surrounding area have been a significant regional archaeological site.

The Incas are another group of people that should be mentioned in the same breath as the Taj Mahal. Represented by the well-known Arawan Palace, and located near the city of Cusco, this is another architectural masterpiece from the colonial days that stands amongst the other Unesco World Heritage Sites in India. It is unquestionably one of the best examples of Inca architecture. Its existence has been confirmed by numerous ancient Inca monuments.

A Much Ado

A large building

The last on the World Heritage List is Wat Chalong, a small fishing village which is located at the Andaman Sea, about forty kilometers from Port Blair. It is not only the fishing villages that have been included on UNESCO World Heritage Sites, but the site also has a very important role as an archaeological site. Dating from around the tenth century, the site is believed to be the first settlement of the Andaman people. It is notable for having an amazingly preserved cultural heritage.

Archaeologists believe the fort was built either on the shore or in an adjacent dry bay. Evidence of charcoal discovered at the site indicates that the people used charcoal as currency and dated back to around 500 BC. There are two main groups of buildings found at the site, each with its own style of fortification. The Neolithic Settlement (or early Neolithic) Fortifications, including stone buildings and pottery, are located next to a lagoon, while the Post-classical Fortification, including walled dwellings and pillars, is found along the shoreline. Other important structures include a Shaman’s lodge and the tombs of important dignitaries.

Bottom Line

There are many more World Heritage Sites in the Andaman Sea area. Of these, the Fortified Cave System in Rabaul serves as an important site, home to thousands of bones. The Pitons Island Fort, a Punjabi fortification site dating from between the sixth and seventh centuries, and the Inkurkhanda Cave System are two other important sites. UNESCO has acknowledged some of the World Heritage sites that surround the Bay of Bengal, like the Phuong Lighthouse and the Golden Myrtle Tree, among many others. UNESCO has included the Manaslu Fort on its World Heritage List.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter