UNESCO Declares World Heritage Sites In India In Accordance With Its Policy

united nations world heritage sites

If you are planning to visit the United States or another country for that matter, you should be aware of some of the most popular and important World Heritage Sites in the areas of the world that you will visit. A World Heritage Site is basically a location with legal protection from an international community, namely by an intergovernmental organization. World Heritage Sites are generally designated by UNESCO for possessing historical, cultural, scientific, or another type of value. UNESCO also issues a list of World Heritage Properties, which showcases the World Heritage Sites in the selected areas around the world.

United Nations World Heritage Sites

A man standing on a bridge

The list of world heritage sites comprises many wonderful places, but some of the most important are the ones that have earned the World Heritage status. These sites are the result of years of research and hard work by volunteers and experts. The aim behind the World Heritage List is to promote awareness of the universal values listed in the UN Convention on World Heritage Sites and the significance of such sites in our world. This is done through the inscribed in the List of World Heritage Properties. Some of the most popular and important sites in this category are the Grand Canyon, the Maya, the Taj Mahal, the Statue of Liberty, and the Chaco River Canyon.

UNESCO requires each country that is a part of this List to submit their information about the natural resources and the environment at these World Heritage Sites. Submission is made in the form of an informative booklet. If you are planning to visit any one of the sites, then you can get all the required information from the booklet itself. You should not walk over the stones unless you are well versed with the rules and the language required for the site. You must also follow the rules of the site, like wearing the right type of footwear.

Lists Of Heritage Sites

A person standing in front of Taj Mahal

The list of world heritage sites has been created keeping in mind the cultural and historical importance of the various countries of the world. There are several factors that are considered while determining the World Heritage Sites. According to the criteria, certain countries like Greece, India, Thailand, Malaysia, the Solomon Islands, and others are given priority. These are places that have been inscribed in the list since they offer the maximum contribution to humanity.

For getting World Heritage Status, a country or a group of countries has to go through a long process. The procedure starts by selecting a candidate country that meets the minimum requirements. After going through the criteria of UNESCO, you will be informed about the status of your proposed site. You will be able to see the different historical events that happened in your world and will be able to learn about some of the cultures and traditions that exist in other countries.

Things To Know

UNESCO requires that all the candidates for the World Heritage List have to exhibit a sense of commitment towards the conservation of the World Heritage sites. They also need to show that their area of influence does not suffer from tourism. If a country can prove that it is able to protect World Heritage sites without negatively affecting tourism, then it will definitely be given the World Heritage Status. However, there are times when these sites are affected by human interference. UNESCO requires that at least 50% of the landmass of a country should be made available for the conservation of the World Heritage Sites. A part of the landmass needs to be a national park for the benefit of the animals and plants in the area.

UNESCO also requires that the country that is providing the World Heritage List with the information should take measures to upgrade its facilities so that these sites can be visited without much difficulty. It should also take measures to protect the World Heritage Site from illegal activities like poaching and unauthorized mining. It should also provide protection and care for the artifacts on the site. When a country fulfills all these conditions, it gets listed as a World Heritage site.

Bottom Line

UNESCO is not satisfied with countries that limit their development in terms of infrastructure and offer inadequate housing facilities for their employees. According to them, if a country can’t afford to improve its infrastructure or offer appropriate housing facilities to its people, then it shouldn’t be able to give a World Heritage site to itself. In order to increase the interest of people in visiting the World Heritage Sites, the United Nations has started publishing a number of books on the World Heritage Sites. It has also started a number of forums and seminars so that the local people and other stakeholders can make their views known about the World Heritage sites.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter